Dead Ends and Dark Alleys: Lessons from a Bank Robber, a Playwright, and a Conglomerate Boss

“Find life experiences and swallow them whole. Travel. Meet many people. Go down some dead ends and explore dark alleys. Try everything. Exhaust yourself in the glorious pursuit of life.” -Lawrence K. Fish

I spend way too much time thinking about study abroad these days…Next year, I know I want to be outside of the US and outside of my comfort zone. Amherst has amazing undergrad education and diversity policies, but for me, being in an unfamiliar place really accelerates learning.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I loved India, developing country symptoms and all, and living there for two months really let me see so much more than what a tourist there for a few days would see. It was so exciting to be live in a place that was going somewhere really exciting. Which reminded me of this quote (and let’s ignore how gangster movies usually end):

“That’s ’cause they’re all about where people come from. The only thing that’s important is where someone’s going.” -John Dillinger, Public Enemies

And this one:

“The reasonable man adapts himself to the conditions that surround him. The unreasonable man adapts surrounding conditions to himself. All progress, therefore, depends on the unreasonable man.” -George Bernard Shaw

Because if there is one thing that defines me, it’s this: I’m comfortable being uncomfortable.

So where am I going to be one year from now? I’m gunning for a semester in China and a semester in another emerging market. It’ll be an uncomfortable, unreasonable journey. But I’ll love every second of it.

(Yeah…I just really wanted to share these three quotes. They’re like shots of expresso for your soul!)

Comments
One Response to “Dead Ends and Dark Alleys: Lessons from a Bank Robber, a Playwright, and a Conglomerate Boss”
  1. ymartin14 says:

    shots of expresso indeed :]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

