People Who Say “Branding Is Important” Don’t Know What They’re Talking About

As a designer, I’m always explaining to clients that branding is important.

One of my professors said in office hours the other day, “Those people who are always talking about how important branding is don’t know what they’re talking about. They take the ‘branding is important’ mantra as a given, but they never bother to think about why it’s important. An MBA will read about the Manhattan pizza war and tell you that branding is important, an economist will be able to explain why firms need product differentiation.”

It’s times like these that remind me how much I love the field of economics for giving me the ability to explain to clients why product differentiation is important. And it’s times like these that remind me how thankful I am for my education.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

